“Banned for life”- with no explanation!

Have you ever been “Banned for Life” from doing something – without knowing the reason why?

I have!

English: The Daily Mail clock, just off Kensin...
Image via Wikipedia

Some background

Earlier this month, during the riots taking place in London and other major cities in the U.K.  I sent a few comments to the talkback forum in the Daily Mail Newspaper. As you can imagine the site was overwhelmed with thousands of posts expressing a variety of opinions – some very extreme!

Of course the TV channels were full of pundits – including one Professor of  History –  who expounded some un- popularly received reviews due to his particular assessment of the reasons for the general culture of anti-social behaviour among many of the youth in the U.K.

I sent a post generally supporting his viewpoint and a few other posts  about the looting and arson that had taken place.

On August 8th I received the following e-mail:

Hello,

Your account has been permanently de- activated for going against the Community Guidelines.

You are no longer allowed to post on the Daily Mail or other Associated Newspapers Ltd sites using this or any other user. Please be advised that should you post again we reserve the right to contact your ISP/employer and seek that action is taken against you.  (My emphasis)

Regards,
Senior Community Editor
Daily Mail

Terms: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/terms.html
House Rules: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/house_rules.html
Privacy Policy: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/privacy.html
Contact: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/contactus.html

This is an automated message from MailOnline.

I didn’t see this mail until a few days later and then immediately replied:

To: moderation@dailymailonline.co.uk
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 8:34 PM
 
I have just seen this notification.
Can you please explain in detail what guideline I broke?
This is a serious request since it was not my intention to deliberately  flout your rules and I see an awful lot of what I would deem as controversial in your talkbacks!
This reply was rejected by the Daily Mail website  due to technical reasons – according to the microsoft explanation. I tried several more times but to no avail.
So I e-mailed the editorial department as follows:

Sent 25th August

Dear Sirs

I have tried to contact you several times regarding an e mail you sent to me on 9th August informing me that I had been banned for life” from ever posting on your web site again.

My request for clarification as to the reason have been ignored.

Apart from the fact that a reasonable action would have been a warning for a first “”offence” I would like to know what I was accused, judged, found guilty and punished for- without being given the opportunity to make any representation on my own behalf.

A prompt answer, this time, would be appreciated

Yours faithfully

Andyboy

P.S. Most of the mails have been returned and microsoft claim that your site cannot accept mail on the published links.

                              ==============================================================
Until now I have received no explanation for the “ban” – and, more seriously. for the attached threats!!
I am curious to know if anyone else has suffered from this phenomenon – either from The Daily Mail – or any other publication.
I think it raises serious issues about freedom of expression – and those who control it!

Andyboy – Telling it as it is   (or, as in this example, trying to!)

3 comments on ““Banned for life”- with no explanation!

  1. Pingback: “Andyboy Has Been Banned” – Again! | andyboy

  2. It’s obvious who western media represents. It certainly isn’t the truth and the level of propaganda and lies from the media is getting beyond a joke. I got banned from the Daily Mail when I made a comment on an article about man made global warming, when I poignantly pointed out that the Rothschilds were behind carbon taxes and make billions in revenue from them. It’s laughable how they are always go out of their way to protect criminal Zionists.

Leave a Reply

